Local Government Area
Greater Bendigo
Postcode
3550
Population
2,365 (2021 census)
Area
2.43 km²
Coordinates
-36.7764, 144.2802
Data
Based on Australian Bureau of Statistics ASGS boundaries, licensed under CC BY 4.0.

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Weather

Loading weather…

About Quarry Hill

Quarry Hill is a residential suburb of Bendigo in the City of Greater Bendigo, Victoria, located 3 kilometres south of the Bendigo city centre. Originally known as Charcoal Gully, an Anglican school was established in 1857 and the local state school was renamed Quarry Hill in 1908 despite little evidence of actual quarrying. The heritage-listed Eyrie at 18 Reginald Street was built in 1874 and the Edelweiss residence on Hamlet Street was built in 1890 for Sir John Quick, a constitutional lawyer and Bendigo MP who also contributed to the Bendigo Art Gallery. The suburb is home to the Bendigo Cemetery established in 1858 and the Quarry Hill Golf Club.

Nearby localities